Alexandria Police to Conduct Mobile DWI Enforcement
In a regional effort with other Northern Virginia Police Departments, Alexandria Police will conduct mobile DWI enforcement effort to deter and apprehend intoxicated drivers on August 29, 2015. The DWI enforcement will begin at 8 P.M. on Saturday, August 29, and continue until 4 A.M. on Sunday, August 30. Motorists will be stopped and drivers will be checked to assure that their abilities to drive have not been impaired by alcohol or drugs.
Chief of Police Earl L. Cook reminds drivers that the maximum penalty in Virginia for the first conviction for driving under the influence is 12 months in jail, a $2,500 fine and a 12-month suspension of driving privileges. In addition, there are mandatory jail terms associated with these offenses, depending upon the blood alcohol content of the driver. Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles administrative fees may apply as well.
For further details, please call the Public Information Office at 703.746.6600.