Festivals Events & Music / Historic Cultural & Artsy / Slider

Alexandria Symphony 2018-2019 Season | News Release | Alexandria Symphony Orchestra

Alexandria Symphony Announces 2018-2019 75th Anniversary Season

ASO Introduces New Music Director James Ross

Alexandria, VA—The Alexandria Symphony Orchestra (ASO) announces its 75th Anniversary Season, featuring new Music Director James Ross. Throughout the year, the ASO will mark the celebration of its 75th Anniversary with special appearances and events with Maestro Ross and members of the ASO.


The subscription series concerts open on September 29 and 30 with Michael Torke’s Javelin, commissioned for the 1996 Olympics held in Atlanta.  The ASO also welcomes violinist Alexander Kerr for Dvořák’s Romance in F minor and Saint-Saëns’ Introduction and Rondo capriccioso. Kerr was raised in Alexandria and will conduct a master class for T. C. Williams High School music students during concert week.  The concert will culminate with Beethoven’s patriotic and well-loved Symphony No. 7.


On November 3 and 4, the ASO features Jessica Krash’s Cello Concerto with soloist Tanya Anisimova. Local composer Krash collaborated with Anisimova to produce this ground-breaking work, and the Alexandria Symphony’s performance will be its world premiere. Says Ross of his colleague and long-time friend, “Jessica is an outstanding musician with a compelling compositional voice full of secrets, fantasy and humor.”  The program also features Mendelssohn’s Scottish Symphony and selections by Bernstein, whose 100th birthday is being celebrated worldwide.


Concerts on February 9 and 10 explore the concept of the classical symphony and composers who inspired each other. Stravinsky’s Dumbarton Oaks Concerto, composed for the opening of the museum in Georgetown, was inspired by Bach’s Brandenburg Concerto No. 1. “Prokofiev’s Classical Symphony is a homage to Mozart and the Viennese style,” comments Maestro Ross. “I paired it with Mozart’s Prague Symphony—an opera in symphonic form.”


The ASO’s season finale on April 6 and 7 features Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto No. 3 with pianist Marianna Prjevalskaya. Prjevalskaya’s precision and clarity will be on full display in this virtuosic work. Also on the program is Schumann’s Symphony No. 1 (Spring) and the Overture to the opera Donna Diana.


The fully-professional Alexandria Symphony Orchestra performs Saturday evenings at Rachel M. Schlesinger Concert Hall and Arts Center and Sunday matinees at the George Washington Masonic Memorial. Season subscriptions start at $68. Single-ticket prices range from $20 to $80 for adults, and there are $5 youth and $10 student tickets. Military, senior and group discounts are also available. To order tickets and for more information, visit www.alexsym.org or call (703) 548-0885.



James Ross, Music Director
Alexander Kerr, violinist

TORKE: Javelin

DVOŘÁK: Romance in F minor

SAINT-SAËNS: Introduction and Rondo capriccioso

BEETHOVEN: Symphony No. 7 in A major

Saturday, September 29, 2018 at 8:00 p.m.
Rachel M. Schlesinger Concert Hall

Sunday, September 30, 2018 at 3:00 p.m.

George Washington Masonic Memorial


James Ross, Music Director
Tanya Anisimova, cellist

KRASH: Cello Concerto (world premiere)

MENDELSSOHN: Symphony No. 3 “Scottish”

BERNSTEIN: Overture to West Side Story
BERNSTEIN: “Three Dance Episodes” from On the Town

Saturday, November 3, 2018 at 8:00 p.m.
Rachel M. Schlesinger Concert Hall

Sunday, November 4, 2018 at 3:00 p.m.

George Washington Masonic Memorial


James Ross, Music Director

PROKOFIEV: Symphony No. 1 “Classical”

J.S. BACH: Brandenburg Concerto No. 1

STRAVINSKY: Concerto in E-flat major “Dumbarton Oaks”

MOZART: Symphony No. 38 “Prague”

Saturday, February 9, 2019 at 8:00 p.m.
Rachel M. Schlesinger Concert Hall

Sunday, February 10, 2019 at 3:00 p.m.

George Washington Masonic Memorial


James Ross, Music Director
Marianna Prjevalskaya, pianist

REZNICEK: Overture to Donna Diana

SCHUMANN: Symphony No. 1 “Spring”

RACHMANINOFF: Piano Concerto No. 3

Saturday, April 6, 2019 at 8:00 p.m.
Rachel M. Schlesinger Concert Hall

Sunday, April 7, 2019 at 3:00 p.m.

George Washington Masonic Memorial


Tickets: $20-$80 for adults. Student tickets $10 (with ID). Youth tickets $5 (age 18 & under). Military, senior and group discounts available.  Purchase online at www.alexsym.org or call 703-548-0885.


Free parking provided by the ASO at both venues. The Rachel M. Schlesinger Concert Hall and Arts Center is accessible by Metro bus lines 7A, 7B, 7F, 7Y, 25A, 25C and 25E, as well as DASH bus line AT6.  The George Washington Masonic Memorial is accessible by the Blue and Yellow metro line (King Street station), numerous Metro, Dash and Richmond Highway Express bus lines, and the King Street Trolley in Old Town, Alexandria.


For soloists’ biographies, please visit: http://www.alexsym.org/about/musicians/



Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: